LibGuides: Critical Thinking : Databases

Best Bet Databases

Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly full-text journals and magazines and also peer-reviewed resources.
Issues & Controversies
Research hot topics using this database. Both sides of an issue are clearly represented to help determine key arguments and strong points from each side. This is a good resource for persuasive essays.
SIRS Issues Researcher
Provides current event articles from journals and newspapers, and includes research topic ideas, pro/con viewpoints, and statistics.

Access the Library Homepage via the following link https://beaconcollege.libguides.com/home or from the Beacon College website, click on the Library link listed under the Portals or Academics tabs.
The databases can be accessed through the drop-down menu under the Research tab or through the Databases button in the header. The databases are listed in alphabetical order, and there is a brief description of each.

Please note that you should be able to automatically access the databases if you are on campus. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to enter your credentials to verify your connection to Beacon College before you will be allowed access. Use your email prefix (without the beaconcollege.edu) and password to gain access.
If you have forgotten your email password, please contact IT for assistance. If you are confident your information is correct but you still cannot access the databases, please contact the library staff at library@beaconcollege,edu for assistance.